Quantization questions

@pengzhao-intel @xinyu-intel @anirudh2290

I have some questions regarding quantization.

I studied this blog post: https://medium.com/apache-mxnet/model-quantization-for-production-level-neural-network-inference-f54462ebba05 and related code.

1. I was under the impression that int8 quantization was possible on CPU, however I am now finding out that only uint8 is possible on CPU, is that correct? Is there a plan to implement int8 with MKLDNN ?

2. When I perform int8 quantization and do inference on GPU, I get very similar results as the fp32 version of the model. When I perform uint8 quantization, my results are completely out of whack, even when I exclude every symbol except the convolutions. This is when I use calibration='none'. How do I make sure that my models output similar results as the fp32 one when using uint8 quantization?

3. What is the role of MXNET_SUBGRAPH_BACKEND=MKLDNN? what does this do? What does this do in relation with quantization? (edit: found this thanks to @anirudh2290 https://mxnet.incubator.apache.org/versions/master/tutorials/mkldnn/operator_list.html, I would suggest adding this in the quantization.py file to help people finding them)

4. What is the role of sym_q.get_backend_symbol('MKLDNN_QUANTIZE') ? What does this do ? I find it a bit confusing because my understanding is that MKLDNN_QUANTIZE actually does operator fusion and not quantization?

5. Am I correct to assume that even if some symbol appears to be split, they are actually fused? See https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/MXNET/MXNet+Graph+Optimization+and+Quantization+based+on+subgraph+and+MKL-DNN

For example, here I ran the quantization step, and got the MKLDNN_QUANTIZE, but I feel this conv + batchnorm has not been fused? Is it normal?