MxNet has trouble saving all parameters of a network

In my experiment, the MxNet may forget saving some parameters of my network.

I am studying mxnet’s gluoncv package (GluonCV Toolkit). To learn the programming skills from the engineers, I manually generate an SSD with ‘gluoncv.model_zoo.ssd.SSD’. The parameters that I use to initialize this class are the same as the official ‘ssd_512_resnet50_v1_voc’ network exceptclasses=(‘car’, ‘pedestrian’, ‘truck’, ‘trafficLight’, ‘biker’)’.

from gluoncv.model_zoo.ssd import SSD
import mxnet as mx

name = ‘resnet50_v1’
base_size = 512
features=[‘stage3_activation5’, ‘stage4_activation2’]
filters=[512, 512, 256, 256]
sizes=[51.2, 102.4, 189.4, 276.4, 363.52, 450.6, 492]
ratios=[[1, 2, 0.5]] + [[1, 2, 0.5, 3, 1.0/3]] * 3 + [[1, 2, 0.5]] * 2
steps=[16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512]
classes=(‘car’, ‘pedestrian’, ‘truck’, ‘trafficLight’, ‘biker’)

pretrained=True

net = SSD(network = name, base_size = base_size, features = features,
num_filters = filters, sizes = sizes, ratios = ratios, steps = steps,
pretrained=pretrained, classes=classes)

I try to feed a manmade data x to this network, and it gives following errors.

x = mx.nd.zeros(shape=(batch_size,3,base_size,base_size))
cls_preds, box_preds, anchors = net(x)

RuntimeError: Parameter 'ssd0_expand_trans_conv0_weight' has not been initialized. Note that you should initialize parameters and create Trainer with Block.collect_params() instead of Block.params because the later does not include Parameters of nested child Blocks

This is reasonable. The SSD uses function ‘gluoncv.nn.feature.FeatureExpander’ to add new layers on the ‘resnet50_v1’, and I forget to initialize them. So, I use following codes.

net.initialize()

Oho, it gives me a lot of warnings.

v.initialize(None, ctx, init, force_reinit=force_reinit)